Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 19 Jan 2019 12am







    Sunday, January 20, 2019-1:17:45P.M.






Font Size


Rota, Tinian casino commissioners’ terms end on Monday

STARTING next week, Rota and Tinian will have no representatives to the Commonwealth Casino Commission because the terms of Rota’s Justin Manglona and Tinian’s Martin San Nicolas will expire on Monday.

Under the law, they cannot serve a second term and their successors must be appointed by Mayor Efraim Atalig of Rota and Mayor Joey Patrick San Nicolas of Tinian.

But commission executive director Edward Deleon Guerrero said there will still be a quorum because there are still two years remaining in the terms of the three commissioners from Saipan — Juan Sablan, Joseph Reyes and Alvaro Santos.

Manglona said appointing a new commissioner takes time.

“It’s not like when another individual is appointed, he can immediately represent the island. He has to go through a lengthy process, undergo a drug test, submit required documents and he or she has to be confirmed first by the respective legislative delegation and take oath before he or she can officially represent the island on the commission. So it takes time, that’s why I don’t know what will happen after my term expires on Monday,” Manglona said.

Asked for comment, Tinian Mayor San Nicolas said he has yet to nominate a new commissioner. He added that he is hoping he can do it as soon as possible.

Variety was unable to get a comment from Rota Mayor Efraim Atalig.