Marianas Variety

Last updateFri, 24 May 2019 12am







    Wednesday, May 22, 2019-6:55:26A.M.






Font Size


TRACS accreditation commission election results

(Press Release) — The president of Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools or TRACS, Dr. Timothy W. Eaton, is pleased to announce the results of the election of TRACS accreditation commissioners who will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2018, through June 30, 2021.

The TRACS Accreditation Commission is comprised of 18 members and includes 13 institutional representatives, two faculty representatives, and three public representatives, each serving three-year terms. (See TRACS and the Accreditation Commission at The commission employs a president who also serves on the commission and executes its policies.

Christian Wei

Each commissioner is a professing Christian of good character who is highly qualified by professional competence and appropriate experience.  TRACS accreditation commissioners represent over 500 years of professional experience in higher education, military service, and business.  They hold forty-six graduate degrees from accredited institutions across America and have served an average of 8.6 years on the accreditation commission. 

The following newly elected commissioners include five institutional representatives from TRACS member institutions and one public representative as noted below:

  • • Rev. Michael J. Cavanaugh (Th.M., Bakke Graduate University) is president of Elim Bible Institute and College, New York.
  • • Dr. James L. Flanagan (Ph.D., Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary) is president of Luther Rice College and Seminary, Georgia.
  • • Dr. Larry D. Hunt (D.Min., Nazarene Theological Seminary) is a public representative who is a retired minister and former college president living in San Antonio, Texas.
  • • Dr. David R. Nicholas (Th.D., Grace Theological Seminary) is president of Shasta Bible College and Graduate School, California.
  • • Dr. H. Christian Wei (Ph.D., Bob Jones University) is president and founder of Eucon International University, Saipan.
  • • Dr. Gary M. Weier (Ph.D., Purdue University) is provost of Bob Jones University, South Carolina.

TRACS is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (U.S. ED), the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, and International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education as a national institutional accrediting agency for Christian postsecondary institutions that offer certificates, diplomas, associate, baccalaureate, and graduate degrees, including distance learning. Member institutions may seek approval for U.S. ED Title IV Programs, which allow students the benefit of participating in federally funded student financial aid.