Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 26 Mar 2019 12am







    Sunday, March 24, 2019-7:35:09A.M.






Font Size


CEC announces Election Day polling places; training for poll workers

THE Commonwealth Election Commission on Thursday announced the various polling places in the three senatorial districts for the Nov. 6 general elections.

CEC said it will also conduct training sessions for poll workers on Oct. 29 for Saipan, Tinian and Rota to ensure smooth elections.

The training for Saipan starts at  6 p.m. at the multi-purpose center. On Tinian, it starts at 5:30 p.m. in Tinian NMC Room D,  and on Rota, at 6 p.m. in Rota NMC Room B-2.

All poll supervisors, poll workers and alternates are required to attend the training and be certified by the CEC executive director prior to being assigned to election duties.

Those who fail to attend the training will be replaced, CEC said.

The poll workers will undergo training related to election procedures, the Ethics Act, and their tasks and responsibilities.

These poll workers and supervisors are recommended by recognized political parties and will be hired by the CEC executive director to help the commission perform its duties and responsibilities.

Early voting for Saipan, Tinian and Rota from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. will start on Oct. 30 and end on Nov. 5.

The early voting for the Northern Islands will start on Oct. 28 and end on Nov. 5. It will take place at the multi-purpose center on Saipan

Early voting for Rota will take place in Rota NMC Room B-2 while on Tinian, it will take place in Tinian NMC Room D.

The Nov. 6 general elections will start at 7 a.m. and end at 7 p.m.

The following are the designated polling places:

  • • Precinct 1A (San Antonio), Hopwood Junior High School cafeteria by the football field entrance
  • • Precinct 1B1 and 1B2 (San Vicente and Dandan), Dandan Middle School cafeteria by the Dandan baseball/softball field entrance
  • • Precinct 1C (Koblerville), Koblerville Elementary School cafeteria main entrance
  • • Precinct 2 (Chalan Kanoa/Susupe), Joeten-Kiyu Public Library
  • • Precinct 3A (San Jose/Oleai), Oleai Elementary School cafeteria front entrance
  • • Precinct 3B1 and 3B2 (Garapan), Garapan Elementary School cafeteria northern entrance
  • • Precinct 4A (Tanapag), Tanapag Middle School cafeteria by the front entrance
  • • Precinct 4B  (San Roque and As Matuis), Gregorio T. Camacho Elementary School cafeteria
  • • Precinct 4C (Capital Hill), legislative building
  • • Precinct 4D, Alamagan, Pagan and Agrigan
  • • Precinct 5-1 and 5-2 (Kagman), Kagman Elementary School cafeteria
  • • Precinct 6 (Tinian and Aguiguan), Tinian Elementary School cafeteria
  • • Precinct 7 (Rota), Rota NMC Room B-2 main entrance

CEC reminds voters to bring a photo ID during the early voting period and on the actual Election Day itself.