Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 23 Jul 2019 12am







    Monday, July 22, 2019-8:07:26P.M.






Font Size


Krise officially installed as UOG’s 11th president

MANGILAO (UOG) — Dr. Thomas W. Krise formally assumed his role as the 11th president of the University of Guam at the president investiture ceremony Friday at the Calvo Field House on the UOG campus.

The investiture was conducted by Chief Justice Katherine A. Maraman before the UOG community and an audience of island dignitaries including Gov. Edward B. Calvo, senators and mayors, military officials, and former regents. Following the swearing in, the UOG Board of Regents presented Krise with the Medallion of Office, the University Charter, and University Mace.

Thomas Krise

Krise, a retired U.S. Air Force officer who most recently served as president of Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma, Wash., was selected by the UOG Board of Regents among 60 applicants to succeed Dr. Robert A. Underwood as president. Krise started at the university on Aug. 6 and will serve for five years.

Former presidents of the University of Guam:

1964-1970: Dr. Antonio C. Yamashita

1970-1974: Dr. Pedro C. Sanchez

1974-1977: Dr. Antonio C. Yamashita

1977-1983: Dr. Rosa R. Carter

1983-1987: Dr. Jose Q. Cruz

1988-1993: Dr. Wilfred P. Leon Guerrero

1994-1996: Dr. John C. Salas

1997-2000: Dr. Jose T. Nededog

2001-2008: Dr. Harold L. Allen

2008-2018: Dr. Robert A. Underwood