Marianas Variety

Last updateThu, 23 May 2019 12am







    Tuesday, May 21, 2019-9:31:15A.M.






Font Size


Debra Lynn Camacho chairs municipal council

THE non-partisan Saipan and Northern Islands Municipal Council, which has three members, held its inaugural session on Tuesday at the leadership memorial courtyard in Chalan Kanoa and elected its officers.

Debra Lynn T. Camacho was elected chair; Ana D. Castro, vice chair; and Antonia M. Tudela, secretary.

Click to enlarge
Newly elected Saipan and Northern Islands Municipal Council Chair Debra Lynn T. Camacho, center, poses with vice chair Anna D. Castro, secretary Antonia M. Tudela, municipal council administrator Francis Muna and staff member Donna Cabrera after the council’s inaugural session on Tuesday.  Photo by Junhan B. Todiño

“I am very thankful for your support and I am looking forward to working with you,” Camacho told her colleagues.

She said the municipal council will also work closely with the Legislature and the administration. “I am honored to serve,” she added.

Municipal council office administrator Francis Muna acted as chair pro-tempore and presided over the session before the election of officers.

Castro said she appreciates the opportunity to chair the municipal council, adding that she is looking forward to working for the progress and development of the community.

She also recognized the staff members at the municipal council office for their service.

For her part, Tudela said: “I am happy that I made it again to be here on the council.”

Tudela, the longest serving council member, said they will push  programs that aim to empower the council.

“We, the three of us, we can achieve that goal,” she added.

During its inaugural session, the council approved a resolution adopting the 14th Saipan and Northern Islands Municipal Council rules of procedures as the current council’s interim rules of procedures pursuant to Article VI, § 6 (a) of the Northern Marianas Islands Commonwealth Constitution.

The three municipal council members were sworn in Monday by CNMI Supreme Court Associate Justice John A. Manglona at Kanoa Resort.