Marianas Variety

Last updateSun, 20 Oct 2019 8pm







    Sunday, October 20, 2019-5:36:59A.M.






Font Size


Resignations of 4 board members accepted

GOVERNOR Ralph DLG Torres and Lt. Gov. Arnold I. Palacios on Monday accepted the resignations of Zoning Board Chairman Diego C. Blanco, Zoning Board member George M. Fleming Jr., Commonwealth Election Commission board member Patricia Mareham and Commonwealth Development Authority board member Benjamin Petersburg.

Blanco, Fleming, Mareham and Petersburg are among the government board and commission members who submitted their courtesy resignations to the governor.

The governor and lt. governor thanked Blanco, Fleming, Mareham and Petersburg for  resigning “to allow us to organize our administration.”

“At this point, we are accepting your resignation effective immediately. Thank you for your service. It has been a pleasure working with you and we wish you the best in your endeavor,” Torres and Palacios stated in letters to Blanco, Fleming, Mareham and Petersburg.

Petersburg is the husband of Nola Hix, the chairwoman of the NMI Democratic Party, while Pat Mareham is the daughter of NMI Democratic Party Central Executive Committee member Tony Mareham.

Blanco is the father of Republican Rep. Ivan Blanco while Fleming is a businessman whose appointment to the board was confirmed by the Senate in December. He was supposed to serve a two-year term.

The governor said the other board and commission members who also turned in their resignation letters will continue their service.

They are  Board of Professional Licensing members Roy P. Reyes, Lilio Tiples, Elizabeth Balajadia, Jovano Q. Taitano and Gregorio Q. Castro; CDA board members Vinney Atalig Hocog, Frank Lee S.N. Borja and Kimo Rosario; CEC member Henry Kaipat; CNMI Scholarship Board members Charlene S. Masiwemai, Geralyn Dela Cruz, Reyna M. Saures and Tianna Hofschneider; Commonwealth Ports Authority board members Thomas P. Villagomez, Joseph Diaz, Roman T. Tudela, Pete P. Reyes, Kimberly King-Hinds and Barry C. Toves; Commonwealth Utilities Corp. board members Weston Thomas A. Deleon Guerrero, Jovita Paulino, Matthew Holley and Miranda Manglona; Healthcare Professional Licensing Board members Glenda S. George, Dr. Martin Rohinger, Theodore Parker and Dr. Warren Dreed; Marianas Public Land Trust board member Martin B. Ada; Marianas Visitors Authority board members Marian Aldan-Pierce, Warren F. Villagomez, Jacinta Kaipat and Jerry Tan; Zoning Board members Patrick V. Reyes, Joe Ayuyu Jr. and Mariano Taitano.

The governor and the lt. governor told them:

“As we move forward with policy agenda for the next four years, it is essential for members of the board and commissions to carry out the administration’s vision and goals that would take our government in a direction that best fits the needs of our commonwealth.

“In this spirit, we believe that you will continue to be an asset to our administration and the people we serve. Thank you for your willingness to continue serving in this capacity and we look forward to your continued dedication and commitment to carry out the mandates of the board.”