Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 22 Oct 2019 12am







    Sunday, October 20, 2019-9:24:09A.M.






Font Size


Cancer march to be held at airport field

THE 2019 Marianas March Against Cancer will take place at the airport field on May 3-4.

The annual event used to be held at Hopwood Middle School in Chalan Piao, but it sustained extensive damage when Typhoon Yutu slammed into Saipan and Tinian on Oct. 24-25, 2018.

“We were hoping to keep the tradition but, unfortunately, Hopwood is not in a position to host the event,” MMAC committee chair Dr. Bobby Dela Cruz said in a phone interview.

Since 2002, MMAC has been the signature fundraising event for the Commonwealth Cancer Association.

“The funds raised have supported the CCA’s mission which is to advocate for a cancer-free CNMI through early detection, public education, awareness about cancer prevention and screening, and to provide hope and support for cancer patients, survivors, and their families,” the MMAC stated.

“Despite the challenges from Super Typhoon Yutu, the steering committee and event stakeholders will continue the fight against cancer in the Marianas to support family members still battling and to honor the memory of those who have passed. We are excited to announce that MMAC will continue in May again this year,” Dr. Cruz said.

Team registration forms are due on March 22. There are six team categories: Atdao Team (Nonprofit/Government); Pulan Team (Family); Napu Team (School); Puti’on Team (Corporation); Tano Team (Nonprofit/School/Government); and Tasi Team (Corporation, Family, Nonprofit, or School).

“Many of us have been affected by cancer, directly or indirectly, and MMAC is a great way to show your support. Take action this year and be part of a community united in the belief that it can make a difference in the fight against cancer by participating as a team,” said steering committee co-chair Carline Sablan.

Inquiries can be directed to Recruitment Subcommittee co-chairs Jackie Che or VinniOrsini at

MMAC 2019 is organized by a volunteer steering committee:

Carline Sablen& Bobby Cruz - Committee Chairs

Jackie Che&VinniOrsini - Recruitment

Juan L. Babauta, Janine Nogis, James Sasamoto and Jaylene Reyes - Logistics

Manny Borja & Dan Brown - Finance

Jenypy Sambile, Ann Tagabuel and Michelle Camacho - Luminaries

Sami Birmingham-Babauta, James Sasamoto and Jaylene Reyes - Media

Le’ah Murphy - Activities and Awards

Sharina Clark - Survivorship

Monique Sablan and Nola Hix - Sponsorship

Annette Pladevega and Maria Krizia Mendoza - Shirts

Carol Hosono and Prunella Pellegrino - Entertainment