Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 22 Oct 2019 12am







    Sunday, October 20, 2019-8:08:30A.M.






Font Size


4-way race for Precinct 3 House seat

THE Republican and Democratic parties are urging Precinct 3 voters to cast their ballots for the special House election on Saturday.

As of 4 p.m., Thursday, 647 had voted already, according to the Commonwealth Election Commission. The early voting period started on Saturday, March 16, and ends today, Friday, March 22. The polling place is the Garapan Community Development Center.

Precinct 3 had 3,803 registered voters as of Oct. 2018, CEC stated.

On Saturday, the designated polling places for the special election are Oleai Elementary School, Room #18 for San Jose/Oleai, and the Garapan Elementary School cafeteria for Garapan. They will open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Voters are reminded to bring a photo ID which they must present before they can receive a ballot.

The special election is for the House seated vacated by Republican Rep. Frank S. Dela Cruz who passed away in January.

There are four candidates: former Rep. Donald C. Barcinas, Democrat; Mariano DLG Fajardo, Independent; Marco T. Peter, Republican; and David C. Sablan, Independent.

Peter will cast his vote at noon today, Friday, according to the chairman of his campaign committee, former Rep. Ramon A. Tebuteb.

Barcinas said he and his wife, Tina will be joined by their supporters when he cast his vote at around 4 p.m. on Saturday.

Former Gov. Carlos S. Camacho who cast his vote two days ago, and other Precinct 3 Democrats will join Barcinas on Saturday.

“We will have a huge crowd of supporters on Saturday,” he added.

Also voting on Saturday are Independent candidates David C. Sablan and Mariano DLG Fajardo.