Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 20 Jul 2019 12am







    Sunday, July 21, 2019-2:13:07P.M.






Font Size


Rota Municipal Council confirms mayor’s appointees

THE 17th Rota Municipal Council has confirmed the six individuals appointed by Mayor Efraim M. Atalig to be his resident directors.

They are Josepha Manglona, Department of Finance; Dexter Peter Apatang, Department of Labor; Dean Reynold Manglona, Department of Commerce; Vanessa G. Charfauros, Department of Public Works; David M. Calvo, Department of Lands and Natural Resources; and former Rep. Glenn Maratita, Department of Public Safety.

In a memorandum on Friday, municipal council chair Anthony DLC Barcinas, vice chairwoman Lucia S. Manglona and secretary Simeon E. Taisacan, said the nominees had submitted the required documents.

“After we carefully reviewed their résumés/backgrounds, goals and accomplishment and based on their confirmation hearing deliberations, we are all satisfied and impressed with all their progress,” the council members said.

“We encourage all resident directors to continue their good work to our people and our island,” the council said.

Ivan Mereb, the mayor’s public information officer, said public hearings on the nominees were held from April 10 to 12, and were “well-attended.”

Rota Mayor Efraim M. Atalig poses with his resident directors whose nominations were confirmed by the municipal council.  Contributed photoRota Mayor Efraim M. Atalig poses with his resident directors whose nominations were confirmed by the municipal council. Contributed photo

“Many expressed their support for the nominees of the mayor,” he added.

In Dec. 2018, the Rota mayor and seven of his resident directors were charged in the Superior Court with theft and misconduct in public office. They are accused of taking government-funded per diem and salary compensation to attend a Republican Party rally on Guam on June 23, 2018.

The mayor’s co-defendants are Department of Labor Resident Director Dexter Apatang, Department of Public Works Resident Director Vanessa Charfauros, Department of Commerce Resident Director Dean Manglona, Department of Finance Resident Director Josepha Manglona, Department of Community and Cultural Affairs Resident Director Magdalena Mesngon, former Department of Public Safety Resident Director Eusebio Manglona and former Department of Fire and Emergency Medical Services Resident Director Dennis Mendiola.

Their trial was set for Sept. 9, 2019.

In federal court, the mayor and his girlfriend Evelyn Atalig have been accused of arranging CNMI-government funded trips to California, Palau, Guam and Saipan under fraudulent pretenses. They were charged with conspiracy, wire fraud, theft from program receiving federal funds and two counts of false statements.

The federal court recently allowed the Ataligs to travel to the Philippines where the mayor will undergo a heart surgery.

Their jury trial in federal court will start on June 4, 2019.