Marianas Variety

Last updateThu, 24 Oct 2019 12am







    Wednesday, October 23, 2019-2:22:56A.M.






Font Size


Saipan delegation confirms Ike Demapan’s nomination to zoning board

THE Saipan and Northern Islands Legislative Delegation on Wednesday unanimously confirmed the nomination of former Indigenous Affairs Director Ignacio “Ike” DLG Demapan to the zoning board.

Ignacio Deleon Guerrero Demapan

All the 17 delegation members present voted in favor of Demapan’s confirmation.

Senate Floor Leader Justo S. Quitugua, Sen. Sixto Igisomar, Reps. Janet U. Maratita and Shiela Babauta were absent.

The delegation’s Judiciary and Governmental Operation will hold a public hearing on Tuesday next week for the nominations of Marianas Visitor Authority product development manager Tatiana Babauta and former Precinct 5 Rep. Frank Aguon.

They were appointed by Gov. Ralph DLG Torres to the zoning board.

Torres told reporters on Wednesday that it is important that the delegation confirm the nominees “because there’s a lot of recovery efforts that need to be moving forward.”

A lot of businesses are asking for permits, he added, “so I hope that the local delegation act on those nominations.”

The delegation chairman, House Floor Leader John Paul P. Sablan, extends his appreciation to the governor and Lt. Gov. Arnold I. Palacios for the nominations to the zoning board.

He said there are about 12 applications and requests still pending with the zoning office because the board cannot take action due to a lack of quorum. These re-zoning applications and requests, Sablan said, involve new investments that the CNMI economy needs.

With the confirmation of Demapan’s nomination, the seven-seat zoning board already has four members and a quorum. The other board members are former Rep. Mario Taitano, Joe Ayuyu Jr. and Patrick Reyes.