Marianas Variety

Last updateThu, 18 Jul 2019 12am







    Tuesday, July 16, 2019-6:52:09A.M.






Font Size


NMI honors law enforcement officers

AS part of the Peace Officers Memorial Day commemoration, a special tribute honoring 42 police officers, customs officers, correctional officers, conservation officers, Marshals and firefighters who have fallen in the line of duty was held at the Department of Public Safety complex in Susupe on Wednesday.

The event included a ceremonial planting of a tree which will serve as a living memorial that honors the fallen sons and daughters of the islands.

Click to enlarge
Family members of law enforcement officers on Wednesday took part in the ceremonial planting of a pink Tacoma tree that will serve as a living memorial for the sons and daughters of the CNMI and their service to the community.  Photo by Bryan Manabat

The tree is a pink Tacoma which can grow 20 to 30 feet tall.

Department of Public Safety Commissioner Robert Guerrero, in his remarks, said law enforcement is an honorable and a noble profession.

Addressing law enforcement officers who were present, he said, “You and those who have gone before you have volunteered to follow a higher standard with a higher degree of integrity, honesty and conduct. You volunteered to subject yourselves to scrutiny and questions, too often politicized, from just about everyone out there. They do not have knowledge, experience, or understanding of what we do every day. They never have had to make a split-second decision that may mean life and death.”

Guerrero said “the officers who have made the supreme sacrifice have demonstrated their devotion to the fundamental values of decency so essential to the well-being of American life.”

“Those men and women who have carried the cause of justice to their grave deserve not only our respect but our heartfelt gratitude and affection,” he added.

For his part, Gov. Ralph Torres thanked the law enforcement officers for their commitment, service and sacrifices.

A DPS unit sang the national and CNMI anthems while another DPS special unit fired the 21-gun salute. Dr. Ed Tudor played Taps.

The law enforcement officers who were honored: PO Joaquin T. Mettao, PO Erlinse C. Santos, CO Kenneth Kapileo, CO Antonio CAlvo, CO Maximo C. Cabrera, CO Edwin Castro, CO Gerald S. Sablan, CO Crispin Lisua, ABTC officer Manuel Santos, Capt. Tommy Alexander, PO Wilgene T. Lieto, PO Joe Charfauros Jr., Sgt. Julian A. Manglona, CO Antonio C. Torres, Resident Director John T. Barcinas, Capt. Alexandro C. Aldan, CO Patricia Reyes, PO Hilary Tagabuel, Conservation Officer Jesus Omar, PO Dwayne Stephen, Firefighter Raymond Villagomez, PO Edward M. Ayuyu, CO Ricardo DLC Camacho, PO Jesse K. Seman, Investigative Analyst Allan B. Dela Cruz, Lt. Frances F. Rabuenog, Capt. Raymond K. Omar, Capt. Justino T. Arriola, PO Abraham S. Quitugua, PO Gilbert M. Taisacan, and Firefighter Ernie T. Dela Cruz.