Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 19 Oct 2019 12am







    Friday, October 18, 2019-10:10:07A.M.






Font Size


Ladyvir Canape is Saipan Marianas Lions Club's Lion of the Year

LONG-TIME community advocate Ladyvir Santos DLC Canape received the Saipan Marianas Lions Club's Lion of the Year Award on Saturday in the Hibiscus Hall of Fiesta Resort & Spa as the Saipan Marianas Lions Club marked its 20th anniversary and inducted its officers.

Click to enlarge
Ladyvir Canape receives the Lion of the Year Award from outgoing club president Florenda A. Miranda and Immediate Past District Gov. Arturo Navarro.  Photo by Junhan B. Todiño

Outgoing club president Florenda A. Miranda said the award’s recipient was unanimously chosen by her fellow lions based on membership, leadership and service.

Since Canape joined the club in March 2008, she has held various position at the club and district club levels.

She served as president of the Saipan Unity Lions Club from 2010 to 2011 and joined the Saipan Marianas Lions Club in December 2014.

Canape also served as the Lions Club International Region 2 District 204 chairperson and coordinated the chartering of the Saipan Marianas Alpha Leo Club in 2015 and the Saipan Alliance Lions Club in 2016.

She initiated and chaired the first Saipan Marianas Lions Club walkathon in October 2018.

The Saipan Marianas Lions Club also recognized its members who have been lions for five years: Teresita O. Tan, Alma Hilaria C. Famat, Leticia S. Canching, Lorna S. Baro, Nalieda B. Atalig, and Guillermo T. Canape Jr.

Also recognized were Domingo E. Dones, Lolita Velasco, Florenda A. Miranda and Canape for their 10 years as lions.

All members, officers and directors of the club were given the New Voices Award.

For her part, Canape was inducted as the new president of the Saipan Marianas Lions Club by Immediate Past District Gov. Arturo Navarro.

Also inducted were Teresita O. Tan, first vice president; Guillermo T. Canape Jr., second vice president; Grace Cruz, secretary; Irene N. Holl, assistance secretary; Delia O. Marfil, treasurer; Mary Jane L. Silapan, assistant treasurer; Lolita Velasco, membership director/global membership team chair; Florenda Miranda, Lions Club International Foundation coordinator; Dyna B. Cabrera, marketing and communications chairperson; Alma Hilaria C. Famat, lion tamer; Martha C. Badilles, club twister; Meynardo A. Latuza, safety officer; and Lorna S.Baro, public relations officer.

The board members are Agnes E. Camacho, Alicia L. Lorin, Perry T. Celestal, and Domingo E. Dones.

The club members are Nelida B. Atalig, Leticia S. Canching, Helen Pacurib, Shirley B. Fabiana, Daisy C. Gonzales, Janette R. Hernando, Elena R. Lopez, Ma Estrella D. Pelisamen, Remegio Bisnar and Judy O. Mendiata.

In her remarks, Canape commended the club’s past leaders, describing them as an inspiration for club members to continue serving the community.

“Without them we will not be able to turn our projects into reality,” she said.

Canape said during its 20 years of existence, the club has devoted itself to community and humanitarian services, supporting charities and promoting goodwill through a variety of fundraising activities and local projects in line with the Lions Club’s motto, “We Serve.”

Also on Saturday, Irene Holl, Michael Holl, Judy Mendiata, Elsa Bangilan and Grace Cruz took their oath as new members.

In addition, the club recognized past presidents Rodrigo P. Santos, the late Pastor B. Gagaring, Bert Ramos, Danilo I. Domingo, Antonio M. Soriano, Apollo M. Madriaga, Nelida B. Atalig, Olive O. Yana and Florenda A. Miranda.

Besides Immediate Past District Gov. Arturo Navarro, the special guests included Philippine Honorary Consul to the CNMI Glicerio “Eli” Arago, Past District Gov. Herbie Perez, Region 2 District 204 officials led by chairperson Annamae Adaza, Argie Buenasalido and Atoy Banting.

Navarro congratulated the club’s members for their dedication, passion and enthusiasm in providing services to the community.

“I encourage you all to continue and engage your members in your journey of service; abide by and respect our code of ethics; share your talents, ideas and time as we look forward to future activities, projects and many more years of anniversary celebrations,” he added.