Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 15 Oct 2019 12am







    Monday, October 14, 2019-4:41:34A.M.






Font Size


Speaker names House conferees

SPEAKER Blas Jonathan Attao on Monday named four members who will represent the House on a bicameral conference committee that will draft a version of House Bill 21-40 that is acceptable to both houses of the Legislature.

The bill proposes to exempt Northern Marianas College and the Northern Marianas Technical Institute from the 1 percent fee due to the Office of Public Auditor.

The House conferees are Reps. Roman Benavente, Joel Camacho and Luis John Castro with Rep. Ralph Yumul as alternate member.

Senate President Victor B. Hocog has yet to appoint the Senate conferees.

On Sept. 10, 2019, the House rejected by a vote of 6 to 10 the Senate version of H.B. 21-40 which was introduced by Benavente.

Those who voted no were House Minority Leader Edwin Propst, Reps. Joel Camacho, Joseph Leepan Guerrero, Richard Lizama, Luis John Castro, Tina Sablan, Janet Maratita, Edmund Villagomez, Ralph Yumul and Donald Manglona.

Those who votes yes were Speaker Blas Jonathan Attao, Reps. Roman Benavente, Ivan Blanco, Antonio Borja, John Paul Sablan and Jose Itibus.

Vice Speaker Lorenzo I. Deleon Guerrero, Reps. Sheila Babauta, Marco Peter and Joseph Flores were “excused.”

The House members who voted against the bill were concerned about the Senate’s deletion of a sunset provision that the House included when it passed H.B. 21-40 a month ago.

The sunset provision, which was requested by OPA, allows for the expiration of the exemption in five years.