Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 07 Dec 2019 12am







    Saturday, December 7, 2019-12:46:45A.M.






Font Size


UN expert, Guam professor meet with 2nd Marianas Political Status Commission

A UNITED Nations expert and an associate professor of the University of Guam met with members of the Second Marianas Political Status Commission on Monday in the House chamber.

Click to enlarge
Dr. Lisa Natividad and Dr. Carlyle G. Corbin field questions from members of the Second Marianas Political Status Commission during Monday’s meeting in the House chamber.  Photo by Emmanuel T. Erediano

Dr. Carlyle G. Corbin is the U.N.’s international advisor on governance and former minister of state for external affairs of the U.S. Virgin Islands while Dr. Lisa Natividad is president of the Guahan Coalition for Peace and Justice, and an associate professor of social work at the University of Guam.

They spoke about self-government in the U.S. territories and the military buildup in the Marianas.

Natividad said what’s happening now in light of “militarization” is “classically” the experience of communities that live around military bases.

“There’s nothing unique about it,” she said; “we have learned to adapt and to live by it.”

Natividad noted that the Marianas political status commission was dormant during the years when people in the Marianas were talking about the military buildup and how it could bring in “lots of money” to the community.

“But the reality is, there are a lot of reports out there and studies that show that that is not the case,” she added.

Corbin said there are institutions in the U.N., which can address these issues and U.N. organizations that island communities like the CNMI can join.

This is “very important for our own capacity building as well because we have a lot of issues that we deal with regularly as island communities.”

Aside from Chairman Pete P. Reyes, the other members of the commission who attended the meeting were Fermin Atalig, Zania Fleming, Richard Lazaro, John Gonzales, Frank Rabauliman, Elizabeth Rechebei, Rosemond Santos, and Speaker Blas Jonathan Attao who is a non-voting member.