Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 07 Dec 2019 12am







    Saturday, December 7, 2019-6:44:44P.M.






Font Size


2019 Business Person of the Year to be announced on Jan. 25

(Press Release) — The Saipan Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations for the 2019 Business Person of the Year.

This prestigious award will be announced at the annual Business Person of the Year Gala slated for Saturday, January 25, 2020 at the Regency Ballroom, Hyatt Regency Saipan from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. It is only fitting that we ring in the new year by honoring the one of the most memorable, fun, and fashionable decades — the Roaring 20’s.

In addition to the BPOY award, the chamber will also be presenting the 2019 Saipan Young Professional of the Year Award, 2019 Non-Profit of the Year Award, 2019 Small Business of the Year Award, and 2019 Chamber Member of the Year Award.

Another highlight of the event will include the installation of the 2020-2021 board of directors. The 2020 board includes re-elected Alex Sablan (Tan Holdings), Mike Johnson (Deloitte & Touche), Velma Palacios (IT&E), newly elected Glen Hunter (The Shack), and incumbent members Marcia Calvo (Calvo’s Insurance), Joe Guerrero (Joint Marketing), Janel Pangelinan (Pacifica Insurance), Ty Pauling (Hyatt Regency), and Shayne Villanueva (Aon Insurance).

Seats to event are limited and available for advance purchase for $100 per person. Tickets include a formal sit-down dinner, networking, and a night celebrating the movers and shakers of our community. Dress attire is formal. The event will be held from 6pm to 10 p.m. The chamber hopes to see all chamber members, potential members, government officials, and all individuals in our community for this night of celebration.

Each guest will have the opportunity to participate in a silent auction that will feature a variety of prizes donated by chamber members. Proceeds of the auction will support the future initiatives of the chamber including workforce readiness, educational advancement, business development, and sustainable economic development.

Each nominee for Business Person of the Year must be a member of the chamber and must reside on Saipan. Qualifying criteria includes active personal participation in the chamber’s committees, events, programs, and meetings; active community involvement and contributions; and being widely recognized for his/her area of expertise. The community is invited to submit their nominations to chamber executive director, Maxine Laszlo at on or before Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 5 p.m.

To order tickets email Mercilynn at, call 234-7150, or visit the third floor of the Marianas Business Plaza in Susupe for more information.