Marianas Variety

Last updateFri, 20 Sep 2019 12am







    Thursday, September 19, 2019-2:16:06P.M.






Font Size


Governor names several appointees

GOVERNOR Ralph Torres announced several appointments to various government boards and agencies.

The appointees are Esther Yatar, Glenda Sablan George, Irene Tudela Torres, Walter Manglona, Donyale Darce Deleon Guerrero, Helen Sablan, Monica Manalo, Jimmy Sablan and Joel Camacho.

Yatar was appointed on August 9 to serve as a board member of the Commonwealth Election Commission representing Rota.

If confirmed by the Senate, Yatar will serve a four-year term. She will succeed Josepha Barcinas.

George was appointed on Aug. 8 to serve on the Health Care Professional Licensing Board representing healthcare professionals. She will fill the seat vacated by Pamela Ann Carhill and will serve four years. Her appointment requires Senate confirmation.

Irene Torres was appointed on Aug. 8 and will serve on the Northern Marianas College Board of Regents, succeeding Maria T. Peter. The nomination requires Senate confirmation.

Walter Manglona, Donyale Darce Deleon Guerrero, Helen Sablan, Monica Manalo, Jimmy Sablan, Arlene Yamagata, Floyd Masga, Jesse Palacios, Margarita Aldan and Suzanne Lizama were all appointed members of the CNMI Council on Developmental Disabilities while Joel Camacho was appointed to the Zoning Board.

Walter Manglona was re-appointed on Aug. 4 to serve for two more years representing the Aging Office on the CNMI Council on Developmental Disabilities.

Donyale Darce Deleon Guerrero will represent the Workforce Investment Agency on the council. The appointment is effective Aug. 15 and will not require Senate confirmation.

Suzanne Lizama will represent Special Education, Public School System; Jimmy Sablan, Northern Marianas Protection & Advocacy Systems; Margarita Aldan, Maternal and Child Health Bureau-Division of Public Health; Jesse Palacios, Northern Marianas Housing Corporation; Helen Sablan, Medicaid Office; Arlene Yamagata, Rehabilitation Act; Floyd Masga, NMC; and Monica Manalo of VOICES of the CNMI. They were all reappointed effective Aug. 15 and will serve two-year terms.

Joel Camacho’s appointment to the Zoning Board requires the Saipan and Northern Islands Legislative Delegation’s confirmation. If confirmed, he will serve a two year-term.