Marianas Variety

Last updateThu, 18 Jan 2018 12am







    Wednesday, January 17, 2018-4:33:00P.M.






Font Size


Dizon, Braxton defend titles in Duathlon sprint

SAIPAN duathlon champions, Nap Dizon and Ayano Braxton defended their title in the 2nd Saipan Duathlon at the PauPau Beach on Saturday.

Click to enlarge
2017 Saipan Duathlon men’s sprint champion, Nap Dizon, center, runner up, Wynn Brillo, left and third place winner, Fred Remilloza hold their awards on the podium during the awards giving after the event at the PauPau Beach on Saturday.
2017 Saipan Duathlon women’s sprint champion, Ayano Braxton crosses the finish line.  Photos by Emmanuel T. Erediano
Although they fell short of beating their own record, Dizon and Braxton once again dominated the event held as a warm up for the local participants of the annual Tagaman next year.

Duathlon’s sprint consisted of 5-kilometer run, 20-kilometer bike, and another 2.5-kilometer run.

Dizon who ruled last year’s sprint with a 1:12:57.3, took the first place again on Saturday clocking in at 1:24:26.2.

Braxton completed the race with a 1:33:02.6 dominating the female participants and came fifth overall. Last year, she clocked in at 1:27:56.9 to win the same title.

Taking the second place was Wynn Brillo who reached the finish line at 1:24:56.6; Fred Remilloza came third with a 1:27:10.3 and Raymond Tolentino settled for the fourth place with a 1:27:13.0.

Also racing in the men’s sprint were Jojo Valencia who came at 1:43:00.1; Phil Guang, 1:43:00.6; Quim Vhenze Urena, 1:46:58.7; Pons Corotan, 1:46:58.7; Edgar Abalos, 1:48:30.3; Jay Diyco, 1:50:04.4; Nathaniel Pagaduan, 1:50:26.6; Rommel Bartolo, 1:54:52.3; Jancee Famularcano, 1:59:38:2; Leon Wania, 1:59:50.4; Blake Mister, 1:59:59.6; Arthur Liang, 2:05:51.9 and Ric Antonio, 2:03:40.9.

In the female division, Beth Kohnen clocked in at 1:40:28.0 to take the second place; Ayumi Kaga, 1:44:54.7 for third place and Rahnne Joy Belonio, 2:03:40.9 for the fourth place.