Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 17 Jul 2018 12am







    Monday, July 16, 2018-8:57:52P.M.






Font Size


Chowtime eliminates Budotz, 72-61

CHOWTIME lived to fight another day as they outscored the Budotz, 72-61during last Sunday’s first round of playoffs in the 2018 Civic Center Inter-color Basketball League held at the Civic Center basketball court.

The Budotz took control of the game with Lerio Pagarao delivering back-to-back buckets. He led the team with 10 points while Web Gontar, Neil Espinosa, Darwin Barbo and Arjay Nonato chipped in a shot each aiding in their 20-12 lead.

Click to enlarge
Chowtime’s Mark Demonteverde gets contact as he goes up for a shot between two defenders during last Sunday’s first round playoff game.
Chowtime’s Jonathan Broncano protects the ball as he drives during last Sunday’s first round playoff game of the 2018 Civic Center Inter-color Basketball League at Civic Center basketball court.  Photos by James F. Sablan Jr.

Despite the Budotz strong start, Chowtime erased the deficit swiftly.

Ramsa Tenepere found his stroke attacking from a distance with two triples to support his 10 points while big men Mark Asuhan and Jonathan Broncano matched up with a combined 10 points to snatch the lead, 34-30.

The Budotz continued to struggle throughout the second half as they fell into foul trouble early.

Dhan Mateo took over from beyond the arc draining two consecutive makes but with Pagarao unable to maintain efficiency, Chowtime stood in front, 53-50.

Chowtime’s pressure defense closed out all driving lanes denying the Budotz any open attempts.

The Budotz was left with only Arjay and Mateo as Pagarao was forced to sit the remainder of the game due to excessive fouls but did not have enough help to pull a comeback.

Jawn Joyner and Broncano took matters into their own hands during the final quarter with four points apiece adding cushion to the gap ending in the double-digit victory, 72-61.


Chowtime 72 – Mark Demontevere 19, Ramsa Tenepere 14, Jonathan Broncano 12, Mark Asuhan 9, Jawn Joyner 8, Ferry Danipog 6, Jomac Manzano 4,

Budotz 61 – Lerio Pagarao 24, Dhan Mateo 11, Arjay Nonato 9, Darwin Barbo 6, Web Gontar 6, Jeff Che 3, Neil Espinosa 2,