Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 25 May 2019 12am







    Saturday, May 25, 2019-9:42:58P.M.






Font Size


Genesis All-Star routs Ol’ Aces Xtra’s 90-74

GENESIS All-Star fortified their record in the 2018 Men’s Island-wide Basketball League after downing the Ol’ Aces Xtra’s, 90-74 during last Monday’s game at the Gilbert C. Ada gym to add their fourth win in books.

Genesis All-Star’s wide variety of scorers kept them in control from start to finish.

Click to enlarge
Genesis All-Star’s Mav Itubus dribbles as he prepares for a post shot against a Ol’ Aces Xtra’s defender during last Monday’s game of the 2018 Men’s Island-wide Basketball League at Gilbert C. Ada Gym.  Photo by James F. Sablan Jr.

 Mav Itubus ignited early in the first quarter as his ability to finish at the rim carried the team with nine points supported by Kelvin Fitial’s seven points cleaning up the mess for the 28-20 lead.

The Ol’ Aces Xtra’s offense started to fade away during the second quarter as they struggled to get a clear shot. Eli Rangamar and big man Bruce Berline tried to keep the momentum flowing but was held down to 11 team points while Genesis All-Star flourished.

Ken Viray and Rangamar joined in the assault combining for 11 points to stretch the deficit, 54-31.

The halftime break seemed to have rejuvenated the Ol’ Aces Xtra’s as their biggest run was seen at the third canto.

Their teamwork shined as each player had a feel for the ball. Jesse Santos found his stroke sinking back to back perimeter shots alongside Naks Nakashima reducing the gap but their inability to stop Genesis’ run kept them trailing behind.

In the end Genesis All-Star held on to the comfortable lead feeding off a handful of fast break opportunities for Viray to capitalize leading the team to a blowout victory 90-74.


Genesis All-Star 90 – Kelvin Fitial 16, Ken Viray 16, Mav Itubus 14, Rangamar 14, Dexter Tenorio 10, Sid Quan 6, Ed Camacho 6, Jerome Norita 4, Jun Sambile 4,

Ol’Aces Xtra’s 74 –Leroy Rangamar 15, John Joyner 15, Jesse Santos 11, Bruce Berline 11, Eli Rangamar 9, Naks Nakashima 8, Daniel Kim 3, Maverick Saures 2,