Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 23 Feb 2019 12am







    Friday, February 22, 2019-1:33:46P.M.






Font Size


Comets, Falcons in junior league finals; Brave, Falcons in senior

THIRD baseman Nate Aizon and starting pitcher Reid Teregeyo had back-to-back RBIs to lead the Comets to the Saipan Little League Baseball junior division championship during last Saturday’s game at the Francisco Tanko Palacios Baseball Field.

Teregeyo and Bing Nakamura combined 18 strike outs to nail the NSA Braves to one run, scored by pitcher Antonio Norita in the top of the first inning.

Click to enlarge
Comets catcher Nate Aizon catches the ball to tag a Chief runner out at the home plate during a previous game of Saipan Little League junior division at the Francisco Tanko Palacios Baseball Field.
Talaabwogh Falcons pitcher Keoni Serrano hurls the ball to a batter in a previous game.  Photos by Emmanuel T. Erediano

With catcher Jay Lifoifoi firing an RBI double the Comets had strong lead after two complete innings.

The run-scoring base hits from Teregeyo and Aizon widened the gap and the Comets never looked back, 7-1.

Falcons 4, Chiefs 1

Shortstop Taisei Desebel had RBI in the second while catcher Lucio Aldan hit an RBI single in the fifth handing the Talabwogh Falcons the final slot over the Chiefs.

Starting pitcher Keoni Serrano had ten strike outs to hold the Chiefs off to a one run.

Falcons 7, Fielders 4

Senior division

In the senior division, centerfield Joel Norita hit an RBI single for an early lead with right fielder Pangelinan droving in a run on walk.

Catcher Arby Yaguel delivered an RBI in the third, and Pangelinan in the seventh to help the Falcons secure their win.

The Braves got the finals berth on a forfeited game against the Comets.