Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 23 Mar 2019 12am







    Friday, March 22, 2019-11:53:10A.M.






Font Size


NMI’s track queens break Micro Games record

THE CNMI’s female track event competitors were among those who broke records in Micro Games.

Therize Millare, Zarinae Sapong, Jerlynn Castillo and Elena Santos came third and won bronze medals in the women 4x400 relay during the fourth day of Micro Games 2018 in Yap, but their 4:24.43 broke previous best time of 4:24.94.

Click to enlarge
CNMI’s Zarinaie Sapong wears the gold medal in the 200-meter sprint as she is congratulated by her dad, Robin during medal presentation in Micro Games 2018. Also in the picture are silver medal winner, Guam’s Shania Bulala and Celine Amparo.  Northern Marianas Athletics photo

The NMI female sprinters proved to be a perfect combination in the event as they were the only commonwealth athletics team that made it in the list of record breakers.

Sapong, for one, delivered both gold and silver medals in the individual events.

The other record breakers in the women 4x400 relay were Guam’s Shania Bulala, Richelle Tugade, Madison Packbier and Celine Amparo who won the gold medal with a 4:19.18, breaking PBT of 4:24.94, and Pohnpei’s Meliza Bartolome, Diana Shigeta, Darla Jonah, and Emiko Leit who finished the relay in 4:20.90, breaking the 4:24.94 record.

The Guam lady sprinters also broke record in the 4x100 relay as they clocked in at 50.49 to win the gold medal. In this event, NMI’s Jamie Pangelinan, Sapong, Elena Santos and Rachel Abrams got the bronze medals with a 53.08.

In the individual competition, the record breakers and the following:

Guam’s Benjamin Middlebrooke clocked in at 1:03.51 in the men’s 1500-meter run to win the gold medal breaking a 1:20.01 record; Pohnpei’s MJ Ioanis who completed the men’s 1500-meter run in 1:12.12 to win the silver medal also breaking the same record; Pohnpei’s Reloliza Saiman who clocked in at 1:25.34 in the women’s 1500-meter race to bag the gold medal and breaking a 1:40.47 record; Guam’s Regine Kate Tugade who completed the women 100-meter sprint in 12.38 breaking the12.68 record, and the women 400-meter race which he completed in 1:01.05 for the gold breaking a 1:01.30 record; Palau’s Rodman Teltull who had the men’s 200-meter dash in 21.88 for the gold medal breaking a 22.15 record; Kiribati’s Lataisi Mwea who soared to 1.91 meters in the high jump to win the gold medal and break a 1.78-meter record; Nauru’s Jonah Harris who went 1.85 meter for the silver medal and break the same record in the high jump; Marshall Islands Sidra Triplett who threw 33.32 meters in the discus throw for the gold medal breaking a 31.69 record and Guam’s Genie Gerardo who hurled 11.49 meters for the gold medals breaking the 11.24-meter record.