Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 22 Oct 2019 12am







    Sunday, October 20, 2019-7:23:36A.M.






Font Size


3-peat for Dizon, Braxton in IT&E Road to Tagaman duathlon

THE IT&E Road to Tagaman Race Series started on Saturday with Nap Dizon and Ayano Braxton pulling off a championship three-peat in short duathlon.

Despite the rain that battered the island in the morning, regular fixtures of the annual event as well as new comers gathered at Paupau Beach to flex their muscles for the bigger event in March—the 2019 Tagaman Triathlon.

Click to enlarge
Ayano Braxton, right, and Zaiyra Ganacias hold their awards during the IT&E Road to Tagaman Race Series Duathlon and Sprint Triathlon at Paupau Beach on Saturday. Nap Dizon and Raymon Tolentino pose together prior to the event.
Triathlon Sprint men first place winner, Carlo Canepa, right, second place winner Tyce Mister, center, and third place winner, Mark Isip pose together. Triathlon Sprint women champion, Emily Northtrop, center, is joined by Triathlon Association of CNMI’s Rick Castro and Manny Sitchon.  TRAC photos

Both Dizon and Braxton broke their records as they won their third championship titles in the men and women divisions of duathlon sprint.

Dizon clocked in at 1:09:42 to lead the male participants again. He had 1:24:26.2 when he won his second crown in 2017 and 1:12:57.3 in the inaugural event in 2016.

Braxton also broke her personal best time completing the race at 1:06:41. In her last year’s victory, she had 1:33:02 and in 2016, she led with 1:27:56.9.

Taking the second place in the short duathlon was Zaiyra Ganacias who clocked in at 1:23:24.

Emily Northtrop led the women in triathlon sprint clocking in at 1:19:55.

Taking the second place was Robyn Spaeth who had 1:41:17; third, Kathy Ruszala; with 1:45:07 and fourth, Janet King who had        1:45:10.

Carlo Canepa led the men division in the triathlon sprint which he completed in 1:21:15 with Tyce Mister close behind him to finish with      1:22:11 and Mark Isip, third wit 1:27:41.

Also racing in the triathlon sprint where Floro Derexes who clocked in at 1:33:21; John Dax Moreno,        1:34:32; Robert Torres, 1:42;28; Will Ordosgoiti 1:44:38 and Colin Thompson, 1:45:09.

Kimiko McKagan led the female racers in the long distance duathlon clocking in at

1:36:11 and Tania Tan came second with 1:41:11.

Raymond Tolentino led the male participants with 1:19:41.

Tam Krackens led the long distance duathlon relay clocking in at 1:05:49 with Cavaliers taking the second place with 1:21:30 and Team KV third, with 1:28:35.

The event was hosted by Triathlon Association of CNMI.