Marianas Variety

Last updateFri, 20 Sep 2019 12am







    Thursday, September 19, 2019-2:54:55P.M.






Font Size


Record-breaking 1,706 join JP Hero Run

THE JP Hero Run 2019 has had its biggest crowd yet as a total of 1,706 participated this year filling the roads of last Saturday’s event starting and ending at the Garapan Fishing Base.

Breaking last year’s JP Glow Run of over 1,500, this year’s Hero-themed run has attracted even more runners to fill the two categories, the 1.5km and 5km.

Click to enlarge
Kids and adults wear masks and capes make their run at the start of the JP Hero Run 2019 held at the Garapan Fishing Base.  Photo by James F. Sablan Jr.

The 1.5km focused on the U12 division where they started at the Garapan Fishing Base with the turnaround points at True Value and back to the fishing base.

Markus Toves and Kaithleen Chaves claimed the throne in their respective brackets. Toves ruled the boys bracket and was the very first runner to cross the finish line clocking in a time of 6:43, well ahead of the competition. Allen Cho came in at second place with a time of 8:03 while Casey Chambers followed behind at 8:20.

As for the females, Kathleen Chavez shared similar performance as she blew past the competition with a time of 6:45. Sister Julie Ann Chavez came in near two minutes later finishing at a time of 8:36 and Arlen Bartolata at third with a time of 11:55 filling the top three lists.

The rest of the runners came in for the 5km run where the winners were separated into age groups.

Starting off in the 13-19 year-old group it was Baley Speath that topped the boys with a time of 20:23 with Sebastian Manabat (20:52) and Simon Shan (21:50) right behind. Stella McCallion took the girls title timing in at 23:02 while Anikka Snyder (24:12) and Pia Ngewaki (25:43) taking second and third.

For the 20-29 year-old group it was Cheng and Taylor Nowicki that topped their divisions with a time of 21:52 and 27:12 respectively. Shuji Kuruda (22:18) and Jason (21:27) earned filled the lists for the boys while Roxanne Soriano (28:17) and Dani Nowicki (28:49) represented the girls.

In the 30-39 it was Charlie Sendin with a time of 21:12 and Sheila Isla with a time of 28:41 that grasped the first place seat. Jerus Quico (21:23), Aris Oris (24:08), Lindsay Altizer (29:50) and Kate Freeman (33:48) joined the spotlight with the top three seats.

Ronald Villafria and Ayano Braxton stood tall in the podium as they also joined the top winners of the 40-49 age group with a time of 22:07 and 23:23. Patrick McCallion (23:03), Race No. 1797, Chiharu Sato (24:49) and Malou Carlos (28:22) made the list as well.

In the 50-59 group it was Jun Hashimoto (23:15) and Sakiko Eda (22:46) that came out on top. Tyce Mister (23:57), Dennis Formelajo (27:51), Lydia Tan (25:20) and Rose Soledad (36:43) filled the remaining two spots.

Lastly in the 60+ group it was Steve Pixley (23:17) and Amalia Harris (32:08) stunning races and spectators alike with their time. Das Khrisnan (32:20), Ador Dimaano (36:23), Juanita Fajardo (39:05) and race no. 503 (39:10) filled the remaining spots.

In the midst of all the winners, it was Kosuke Sato and Heather Taylor that stole the show as they were honored with the overall winner awards.

Aside from the individual awards, there was a contest for schools that had the most runners/reporters. For private schools it was Saipan International School that was given the first place prize while Agape Christian School and Grace Christian Academy took second and third place. As for the public schools it was William S. Reyes that claimed first place followed by Garapan Elementary School and Marianas High School.

All proceeds raised from the event will go to the Commonwealth Cancer Association. The event is held in memory of TanHoldings Corporation Executive John “JP” Pangelinan, who passed away in February, 2008 due to cancer. This is the 11th year of the JP Run event.