Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 21 Sep 2019 12am







    Friday, September 20, 2019-5:01:09P.M.






Font Size


Marianas Water claims SBA Tuesday League title

DREW’S Marianas Water is this year’s Tuesday Division champion of the SBA Budweiser Open 8-Ball League after slipping past Drew’s IT&E Destroyers 9-7 during Tuesday’s title game at Drew’s Bar & Grill.

Click to enlarge
Drew’s Marianas Water is the Tuesday Division champion of the 2019 SBA Budweiser Open 8-Ball League. Team members pose after beating Drew’s IT&E Destroyers on Tuesday at Drew’s Bar & Grill.  Contributed photo

Marianas Water did not have it easy as it had to work for the money early in the game. Rolly Villanueva and RJ Mascarinas drew first blood for the Destroyers as they teamed up to claim the opening Partners 8-Ball match, 1-0. They continued to strengthen their odds as Nolan Cultura joined in the following Singles 8-Ball match, strutting his one-on-one skills alongside Mascarinas to add two more consecutive wins. But they were denied a sweep thanks to Rey Pinangay’s besting Villanueva in the final round to hand Marianas Water its first point of the night.

Pinangay’s comeback sparked his team’s momentum as they returned to the Partners 8-Ball match with Jerry Soriano and Mervin Sahagun joining hands to blow past the Destroyers and reduce the gap. It did not stop there as the team also delivered in the second Singles 8-Ball match with Sahagun, Jerry Soriano and Pinangay pulling a 3-win sweep to snatch control 5-3.

The Destroyers were not to be counted out so easily as they returned fire with a single win and two more in the third singles match to even the score 6-6.

However, in the end, Marianas Water’s flow could not be disrupted as its players stayed aggressive and collected the last three wins needed to secure the match early, leaving the final round untouched 9-7 to win the championship.

In the battle for third place, the Brannon’s Hustlers came out on top as they barely gave the 9Eleven Str8 Black Ball any room to breathe. The Hustlers triumphed, 9-3.

The Hustlers made sure that they did not just hustle this time around as they established dominance right from the start.

Erwin Gomez and Rowel Mariano were unstoppable as a team, clipping the opening match while Senen Pangilinan was victorious in the following Singles 8-Ball match as their team led 3-1. The Str8 BlackBall tried to keep up but only Rodel Dela Cruz could squeeze in a win in the second Singles 8-Ball match while Jeof Lagmay and Randy David bagged another win before losing to the Hustlers 3-9.