Marianas Variety

Last updateWed, 21 Feb 2018 12am







    Tuesday, February 20, 2018-4:24:42P.M.






Font Size


Kagman freezes Swip Waters in OT, 101-89

KAGMAN forced the game into overtime with Jon Limes stepping up to beat Swip Waters, 101-89 during last Wednesday’s game of the 2017 San Antonio Summer Basketball League held at the San Antonio basketball court.

Kagman’s Frank Mettao shoots the ball against Swip Waters’ Jun Fidelino during last Wednesday’s game of the 2017 SA Summer Basketball League at San Antonio basketball court.  Photo by James F. Sablan Jr.
Kagman seized control and held on it tight.

Dizon Magofna, Doming Faisao, Tom Pangelinan and Jon Limes contributed four points each to keep the lead.

Swip Waters, “Shotgun” Jun Tabora lived up to his name as he fired back-to-back shots for 16 points in the first half.

With the help of Roberto Paragados shadowing Tabora’s streak, the Swip Waters strayed close behind, 37-40.

Kagman kept sizzling in the third quarter with Ray Babauta heating up with three consecutive triples for a double- digit lead.

Despite Kagman’s rally, Paragados and Tabora could not be disrupted shooting their way back to tie the game 82-82.

Kagman’s die-hard attitude kept them ahead strengthening their defense that forced Swip Waters to fire from free throw line. Pangelinan and Brandon Babauta lit up the score board with Limes putting up the last three buckets to secure the win 101-89.

Stephen’s Pawnshop 80, Quadro PS 78

Another nail-biting game completed the night with Stephen’s Pawnshop winning by two points against Quadro PS.

Stephen’s Pawnshop pushed 10-point lead in the opening quarter. Quadro PS worked their way back within reach thanks to Henry Davis’ diversity on the floor picking up 14 points by the end of the third canto trailing by three points 55-58.

Stephen’s Pawnshop could not shake off Quadro PS but kept control throughout the entire game. Jack Aranda fired critical three-pointers.

Jun Estolas retaliated to keep the game even but Quadro PS’ could not stay out of contact as they were called for the foul placing Sean Robasto and Gerald Flores to the line for the easy attempts.


Kagman 101 – Ray Babauta 23, Brandon Babauta 15, Doming Faisao 13, Jon Limes 13, Dizon Magofna 12, Tom Pangelinan 12, Leightey 6, Ed Camacho 4, Frank Mettao 3,

Swip Waters 89 – Roberto Paragados 30, Jun Tabora 39, Bernaldo Montano 10, Rafael Ordona 6, Ernie 4, Caro 4,