Marianas Variety

Last updateTue, 27 Feb 2018 12am







    Monday, February 26, 2018-2:36:18P.M.






Font Size


Saralu, Villagomez share MVP awards with Atan

THE Ol’ Aces did not just go undefeated in the U18 division of the 2nd Annual Francisco M. Diaz Memorial Youth Basketball League. Their best player, Aiferson Atan was also named finals most valuable player.

Also winning the MVP crowns were IT&E’s Gillian Villgomez for U18 Girls and Ol’ Aces’ Rikko Saralu for U15 Boys.

Atan has been a major asset to the Ol’ Aces with a perfect record during their final game scoring eight crucial points against NMI/DYS Rollers to keep them at a comfortable distance leading to their title victory.

The Ol’ Aces came home with their hands filled as they bagged the Pennant Champion to their collection.

The 670 Sonics XVI were handed the fourth runner up trophy, the Natibu Warriors with third place trophy and the NMI/DYS Rollers at second place.

The Venus Sportsmanship Award, which was in honor of valued organizer and official Abner Venus, was given to the Northside Wolves.

Other individual awards were given in the U18 division as well.

Ol’ Aces’ Dean Blake, the NMI/DYS Rollers’ Kenji Abobo, Mount Carmel Knights’ Tony Deleon Guerrero, Natibu Warriors’ Rawhoo Sulap and Northside Wolves’ Duncan Laxa completed the Mythical Five selection award.

Abobo brought home two trophies that night as his consistency throughout the season led to the Regular Season MVP award while Laxa bagged the Scoring Champ award with a 15.3 scoring average.

The U18 Girls Ol’ Aces pose with their second place trophy during the award ceremony of the 2nd Annual FMD Memorial Youth Basketball League U18 Division at Gilbert C. Ada Gym.  Photo by James F. Sablan Jr.

In the U18 Girls division, IT&E’s Gillian Villagomez was honored with the finals MVP awards thanks to her backbone support on both ends of the court to help defeat Ol’ Aces 64-48 during their championship game.

Teammate Karleen Reyes joined her celebration as she took the Regular Season MVP and Scoring Champ with a scoring average of 8.8. They did not stop there as they joined the Mythical Five roster along with the Jr. Ol’Aces’ Fernandez Alliyah and Desrei Camacho and Lady Knights’ Quincy Chinen.

Although IT&E claimed the championship title, the Ol’Aces still felt like winners as they were handed the Pennant Champion along with the second place title.

The Jr. Ol’ Aces bagged the third place trophy followed by Lady Knights taking fourth Runner Up and the Venus Sportsmanship award as well.

And as for the U15 boys division, the Ol’ Aces’ Rikko Saralu went home with three individual awards.

Saralu’s die-hard efforts throughout the season and the championship match drew eyes as he led the team to the title with 18 points defeating 670 Sonics/PHI 46-36 to be named the Finals MVP as well as the Regular Season MVP.

He also joined the Mythical Five with NMI Rollers’ SunJoon Tenorio, Ol’Aces Extreme’s Justin Laniyo, 670 Sonics’ Clarenz Contreras and Natibu Young Warriors’ Francisco Kumuch.

The Ol’ Aces celebrated twice as hard as they earned the Pennant Champion in the team awards.

The 670 Sonics/PHI bagged the second place trophy while NMI Rollers took third place and Natibu Young Warriors right behind at fourth place.

The Ol’ Aces Extreme was honored with the Venus sportsmanship award.