Marianas Variety

Last updateFri, 23 Feb 2018 12am







    Thursday, February 22, 2018-3:26:26A.M.






Font Size


Jeong tops Club Lao’s Peoria tour

JAE Yeol Jeong went one-shot better than his first day feat to snatch the double Peoria win from top golfers in the 2017 Annual Club Lao Charity Golf Tournament at the LaoLao Bay Golf & Resort over the weekend.

One the island’s major golf event, Club Lao once again brought together close to 100 top and amateur local golfers vying for a slot in the match play next month and the inaugural Marianas International Cup on Oct. 28 and 29.

Jae Yeol Jeong, right, JJ Atalig, left, Feng Chun Jin second left, and Ryan Kim, center are joined by LaoLao Bay Golf & Resort President Chang Kim Ho during the awards banquet of the 2017 Annual Club Lao Charity Golf Tournament.  Photo by Emmanuel T. Erediano

Jeong shot a 4-over par 76 on a beautiful day, a one stroke better than his first day gross of 78. He went just lucky enough to earn a 72.40 to complement his first day net of 68.40 for the lowest two-day net of 140.80 and win the double Peoria tour.

Jeong riddled his front nine with pars. He also made it up for his double-bogey in Hole No. 2 with a birdie in Hole No. 12 and more at par shots in the back nine.

Feng Chun Jin who stayed consistent in top five during the first day, started his tour yesterday with bogeys two holes in a row and fell to No. 15. Second day gross was much better but he was luckier on Saturday earning a 68.40.

Feng totaled 141.40 to win the second place.

JJ Atalig placed second in the first day with a 1-under but wasn’t lucky to hit the Peoria holes. In the second day, however, he went 2-under stay afloat and took the third place with a 142.20.

Ryan Park Kim topped the opening day with a 7-under, and had a 4-under yesterday settled for the fourth with a 142.60.

Also receiving awards yesterday were Hyun Son and Seung San Choi who were tied at 146.80; Ki Bok Kang, 146.40; Jong Wan Won, 146.20; Young Woo Lee and Gi Yeong Kim tied 145.80; Alex Tudela and Young Sook Kwon, tied at 145.40; Yuko Togawa, William Retardo and Eli Buenaventura tied at 145.20; Chang Hee Yoo and Seo Yeon Jeon, tied at 144.40; Hyew Duck Jang, 144.20; Seung Woo Kang 143.80 and Jong Woo Park, 142.80.