Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 19 Oct 2019 12am







    Friday, October 18, 2019-2:18:25P.M.






Font Size


Regional News

New Yap governor, other elected officials sworn in

COLONIA, Yap (Yap State Government) — The new government of the State of Yap, Federated States of Micronesia, was officially sworn into office Monday, Jan. 14, 2019.

On Jan. 11, 2019, the governor  and his incoming administration met with the incumbent leadership in a meeting dubbed the “leadership summit” at Yap Marina. A task force was set by former Gov. Tony Ganngiyan’s outgoing administration to oversee the smooth transition to the new administration. At the leadership summit, the transition was officially concluded.

Yap Gov. Henry Falan
Lt. Gov. Jesse J. Sasalu

Ahead of the inaugural ceremonies on Monday, Jan. 14, a Catholic mass was held at 10 a.m. Sunday, Jan. 13, for the Yap state leadership at the Matson Sports Complex. Also in attendance were officials and representatives from the FSM national government as well as the diplomatic corps. A dinner reception was held at Yap Pacific Dive Resort in honor of the principal guests of honor and off-island dignitaries.

On Monday, Jan. 14, the inauguration was finally held. Ahead of the inaugural ceremony in the afternoon, swear-in ceremonies were held at the Office of the Governor and the legislative chamber at 9 a.m. and 12 p.m., respectively. The governor-elect and lt. governor-elect were sworn in by Yap State Chief Justice Cyprian J. Manmaw; three hours later, the incoming senators were sworn in during the first special session of the 10th Legislature. The 10th Legislature quickly reorganized its committees in time for the new government to become effective on Monday afternoon.

At 1 p.m., the new administration was presented to the public during the inaugural ceremony at the Matson Sports Complex. In attendance at the inaugural ceremony were George Fraser, Australian ambassador;  Heather Coble, U.S. Embassy deputy chief of mission; Lorin Roberts, FSM secretary of Foreign Affairs; Andrew Yatilman, FSM Sscretary of Environment, Climate Change and Emergency Management;  Faustina K. Rehuher-Marugg, Palau minister of State; Charles Obichang, Palau minister of Public Infrastructure, Industries & Commerce; and other representatives from the FSM national government, Guam and the Asian Development Bank

Following the inaugural ceremony were the inaugural ball at Pine Club on Monday night, and the picnic at Malay Park on Tuesday afternoon.

Congratulations to the seventh governor and lt. governor, Henry S. Falan and Jesse J. Salalu; and to Speaker Vincent Figir, Vice Speaker John Masiwemai, Floor Leader Jerry Fagolimul and the members of the Tenth Legislature of the State of Yap!

Legislative Committee on Finance

  • • Sen. Nicholas Figirlaarwon, chairman
  • • Sen. Kensley Ikosia, vice chairman
  • • Sen. Jerry Fagolimul, member

Legislative Committee on Government, Health & Welfare

  • • Sen. Theodore “Ted” Rutun, chairman
  • • Sen. Joseph Tiucheimal, vice chairman
  • •Sen. Jesse Raglmar-Subolmar, member

Legislative Committee on Resources, Education & Development

  • • Sen. John Giliko’, chairman
  • • Sen. John Mafel, vice chairman
  • • Sen. John Masiwemai, member