Marianas Variety

Last updateWed, 17 Jul 2019 12am







    Tuesday, July 16, 2019-2:22:49P.M.






Font Size


Regional News

Unofficial result of FSM national election in Yap

COLONIA, Yap (Yap State Government) — On March 3, 2015, the four states of the FSM went to the polls to vote for their next representatives to the Congress of the FSM. In Yap, two candidates ran each for the two-year and four-year terms in Congress — longtime Congressmen Isaac V. Figir and Joseph John “Joe” Urusemal, respectively.

Isaac FigirIsaac Figir
Joseph UrusemalJoseph Urusemal
On the FSM National Election Day, voters went to the polls between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. in select sites around the Yap main islands and the neighboring islands, as well as off-state places such as Pohnpei, Guam and Hawaii.

The total votes so far, as reported in the unofficial results, were:

• Isaac Figir for two-year term, single-seat: 2,437

• Joe Urusemal for four-year term, at-large: 2,452

For more information or clarifications, contact the Yap election office at 691-350-4217 during government working hours.