Marianas Variety

Last updateSat, 16 Dec 2017 12am






    Sunday, December 17, 2017-11:17:56A.M.






Font Size


1994 Honda Civic wins Best in Show at 2017 auto fest

MANNY and JT Ada’s 1994 Honda Civic was named Best in Show during the 2017 Island Summer Auto Fest on Saturday at the Marianas Business Plaza.

Car show organizer James Fleming said the Adas’ car received the most points overall in all categories. The car was built and maintained by Manny Ada and registered to his son JT for the competition.

Click to enlarge
Manny Ada and his family pose with their 1994 Honda Civic, which was named this year’s Best in Show at the 2017 Island Summer Auto Fest.
Manny Ada and his son, JT, received 1st prize in the two-door category at the 2017 Island Summer Auto Fest.
Sean Ficke’s 2016 Toyota Tacoma topped the 4x4 category. He also received the Triple J and AK awards.

“In picking the winners, we used a point system,” Fleming said. “Our judges are expert car builders, and they know what to look for in a car, its interior and engine. Some people focus on the interior and some on the engine. But this car show focuses on both.”

Manny and JT Ada’s vehicle also won in the two-door category.

Manny Ada said it was the same car he entered in three competitions on Guam in February, April and May. “I had the privilege to compete on Guam this year. I won third place at the showcase in February.”

After competing on Guam, he said he modified his car for this year’s Saipan auto fest. “I did a motor swap — I went from the B series to the K series.”

According to Fleming, Manny Ada won Best in Show in 2015 while Fabian M. Indalecio’s 1971 Chevy Nova was the top winner in 2016.

This year, winners in all categories received a total of $6,000 plus gift certificates.

Fleming apologized to the participants because the trophies did not arrive on time.

“One of our judges was supposed to bring the trophies, but he didn’t make it to the island on time because his flight was cancelled on Guam,” Fleming explained.

This year’s winners are:


1st place – 2016 Toyota Tacoma, Sean Ficke

2nd place – 2016 Toyota Tacoma, JJ Cabrera

3rd place – 2017 Toyota Tacoma, Christopher Leon Guerrero


1st place – 1991 Toyota Pickup, Abe Jr. Barce

2nd place – 1998 Dodge Dakota, Roman Tudela

3rd place – 1995 Toyota Tacoma, Ellery Cruz

Café Bikes

1st place – 2009 Yamaha YZFR1, Fal Arriola

2nd place – 2003 Honda CBR, Joseph Ocampo

3rd place – 2007 Yamaha R6, Ramil Elistaquio

Cruiser Bikes (Non-Bagger)

1st place – 2016 Harley Davidson V-Rod, Bizzo Borja

2nd place – 2016 Harley Davidson Sportster 72, Franchesco Ulloa

3rd place – 1975 Honda CB 750, Juan Blas


1st place – 2008 Honda Ruckus, Melia E. Fleming

2nd place – 2009 Honda Ruckus, Mia E. Fleming


1st place – 2007 Honda Civic, Jeffrey Riman

2nd place – 2017 Mitsubishi Lancer, Derek Reyes

3rd place – 2017 Honda Civic, Edwin Takai


1st place – 1994 Honda Civic, JT Ada

2nd place – 2013 Honda Civic Si, Reyel Quezon

3rd place – 1996 Honda Civic Hatchback, Jeffrey Riman

Sound Off

1st place – 1997 Honda Civic with a DB 144.72, Jerry J. Escota

2nd place – 1991 Toyota Pick-Up with a DB 136.28, Abe Barce

3rd place – 1997 Honda Civic with a DB 135.35, Antonio Muna

Main Awards

Triple J Award – 1993 Mazda Rx 7, Sean Ficke

Joeten Motors Award – 1994 Honda Civic, JT Ada

AK Award – 2016 Toyota Tacoma TRD, Sean Ficke

Best in Show – 1994 Honda Civic, JT Ada