CPA: President Trump issues proclamation regarding suspension and limitation of entry of travelers from China

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

(Commonwealth Ports Authority) — On Jan. 31, 2020, President Donald Trump issued a “Proclamation on Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Nonimmigrants of Persons who Pose a Risk of Transmitting 2019 Novel Coronavirus.”

The proclamation states that “[t]he entry into the United States, as immigrants or nonimmigrants, of all aliens who were physically present within the People’s Republic of China, excluding the Special Autonomous Regions of Hong Kong and Macau, during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States is hereby suspended and limited subject to section 2 of this proclamation.”

Section 2 of the proclamation provides the scope of suspension and limitation on entry. Section 3 of the proclamation states that the Secretary of State and the Secretary of Homeland Security will implement the proclamation as it applies to visas and the entry of aliens, respectively.

Locally, U.S. Customs and Border Patrol will be responsible for this matter.

The President’s proclamation is effective at 5 p.m. eastern standard time on Feb. 2, 2020, which is Feb. 3, 2020, at 8 a.m. Chamorro Standard Time.

The President’s proclamation will remain in effect until terminated by the President.

CPA is currently collaborating with local and federal partners and is waiting for further information in regard to the implementation of the proclamation.

For more information on the proclamation visit

Read more articles