Zoning chair asks governor to appoint 4 board members

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

ZONING Board Chairman Mariano Taitano is asking Gov. Ralph DLG Torres to appoint four board members.

Taitano said his term ends on March 28 and he has no plan to remain on the board.

Its other members are Joe Ayuyu Jr., Tatiana Babauta, and Frank Aguon.

Under the law, Taitano said the board should have seven members.

“Ever since I sat on the board, we have had only five members,” he added.

A former House member, Taitano was appointed to the board in 2016 and reappointed in 2018.

Appointments to the board require the consent of the Saipan and Northern Islands Legislative Delegation.

A board member serves a two-year term.

Read more articles