12 educators complete 2-year PSS Aspiring Leaders Program

Community Bulletin
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

(PSS) — The CNMI Public School System’s Office of Instructional Technology & Distance Education celebrates 12 professionals who completed their Professional Administrative Certification requirements through the Aspiring Leaders Program.

Over the course of the past two years, program participants explored in-depth coursework that provides a strong foundation for both school and district leadership and administration. The program consists of Introduction to School Administration, Educational Law, Educational Technology for Administrators, Instructional Leadership, Supervision and Evaluation, School & District Finance, Facilitative Leadership, School Personnel as well as two internships.

During his welcoming remarks, Dr. Alfred Ada, commissioner of education, shared, “You've committed two years of your life to learn about leadership, and now you've completed the Aspiring Leaders Program. The world of leadership is challenging, and you’re now ready to lead and manage change. I thank you for your willingness to lead.”

Each of the 12 participants were also given an opportunity to share their reflections as well as their personal leadership mantra. Among them was Alisa Pangelinan, who was inspired to pursue educational leadership from her late father, Thomas D. Pangelinan, who was an educational pioneer serving as a former instructional leader and Board of Education member.

Ms. Pangelinan shared, “With the right mindset, motivation, support, and faith nothing in life is difficult. The program has really helped to build my confidence to take on the position as a school leader. The classes have really prepared me to successfully lead, practice what I have learned, and make the leadership lessons authentically my own to better serve the unique needs of my school.

Also in attendance was Vice Chairman Herman Atalig of the Board of Education, who provided inspirational remarks, congratulating the leaders and highlighting the importance of servant leadership.

Ms. Lorraine Catienza and Dr. Bobby Cruz, Instructional Technology & Distance Education leaders, expressed their excitement to see the role of technology in supporting continued professional growth, particularly in the area of leadership.

The 12 Aspiring Leaders Program graduates are Anthony Frank, Le’ah Murphy, Alisa Ann Pangelinan, Jerry Diaz, Jude Loste, Denise King, Catherine Acera-Cabrera, Lizelle Amirez, Jaclyn Quitugua, Martina Diaz, Benjamin Jones Jr., and Victorino Borja.

Read more articles

previous arrow
next arrow