FSM citizens prohibited from outbound travel to Covid-19 affected jurisdictions

Regional News
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Information Services) — On March 30, 2020, the government of the Federated States of Micronesia became aware of a newly declared mandatory 14-day quarantine for all travelers into the U.S. Territory of Guam, including citizens from the FSM.

FSM citizens are reminded that both the original Public Health Emergency Declaration signed on Jan. 31, 2020, and the subsequent National Declaration Placing the Entire FSM Under a State of National Public Health Emergency in Connection with the Covid-19 Pandemic signed on March 14, 2020, prohibits FSM citizen travel outbound to Covid-19 affected jurisdictions until such time that a determination is made that the Covid-19 Pandemic has been contained. Exemptions are made for a traveler returning to a place of employment, returning to a place of education, acquiring urgently needed medical services, or attending to a unique family crisis such as the death of a loved one.

FSM citizens wishing to remind themselves of the content within the president’s declaration may find it here: https://gov.fm/files/Declaration_as_of_March_14.pdf

Guam is a Covid-19 affected jurisdiction, and by extension FSM citizens are prohibited from traveling there unless they meet the criteria described above.

Per the terms of Guam’s mandatory quarantine procedures, all travelers entering Guam must stay at a government-designated quarantine facility for a minimum of 14 days. The government of Guam will charge travelers for services rendered, such as the cost of the hotel and transportation to and from these designated facilities. The FSM national government continues to discourage travel, recommends all citizens practice social distancing, such as maintaining six feet distance from other individuals, and discourages large gatherings.